Adventures of a Comm Monkey

In my prior life I was the RTO for an element attached to a state wide group of well regulated irregulars. As a licensed HAM (General Class), I had acquired a good bit of ‘high’ priced  Japanese gear. I know how to use it and not abuse it. I thought I had all the skills necessary to be a good RTO.

What I found was that I was wholly unprepared for the chaos of the not so regulated comms. Woxun, baofeng, midland, and some no name radios were now in my domain with operators who only basically knew how to use them. While standardization if always the goal, it is rarely the starting state.

HAMs tend to be elitists and look down on the increasingly prevalent Chinese radios. While there are some good reasons for this, however, when confronted  with the reality of a self funded group of individuals you have to adapt. People buy what they can afford, usually while uninformed, and are unable to fund another radio after the fact. Fortunately, you don’t have to purchase one of every radio used by your team mates; virtually all user manuals are available for free online. My suggestion, even if your group members all have the same radios, as a good RTO is to acquire the various manuals now while you are free to do so.

 

Author: pathfinder1776

Ultra Running Guy, GO Ruck Guy, Tech Guy, Hunting Guy, HAM Guy, UCG (Untrained Civilian Goofball) Ret.

Leave a Reply

